12 Dec Google Translate adds Myanmar to list of languages

Written by Mizzima Published in Technology Read 7658 times

Google Translate has just added 10 more languages including Myanmar to allow internet users to translate text on websites into their own language.

In a press release on December 11, Google Translate said they were adding 10 languages to Translate, bringing the total number of supported languages to 90.

“Myanmar language has been in the works for a long time as it's a challenging language for automatic translation, both from language structure and font encoding perspectives,” read a Google Translate blogpost.

“While our system understands different Myanmar inputs, we encourage the use of open standards and therefore only output Myanmar translations in Unicode.”

The new languages include Myanmar, Malayalam, Sinhala, Sundanese, Kazakh, Tajik and Chichewa.

These 10 new languages will allow more than 200 million additional people to translate text to and from their native languages, according to the press release.

The languages are available on translate.google.com.

Last modified on Friday, 12 December 2014 13:55